Nino Chiocca, MD, PhD - World Medical Innovation Forum
WMIF Main Site

Nino Chiocca, MD, PhD

Neurosurgeon-in-Chief and Chairman, Neurosurgery, BWH

Harvey W. Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery, HMS

Dr. Chiocca is the Harvey Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery at Harvard Medical School and is the Chairman Neurosurgery at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He was previously Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at the Ohio State University Medical Center. He has been continuously funded by the NIH since 1996. He has more than 300 peer-reviewed publications, some in journals such as Nature Medicine, Nature Biotechnology, Molecular Cell, and PNAS. He has elucidated how viruses with specific gene mutations will replicate selectively in tumors with a specific defect in a tumor suppressor pathway. He has also shown how modulation of innate immunity will improve replication of these tumor-selective viruses. More recently, he has elucidated how specific microRNAs (mir128 and mir451) regulate cellular target transcripts to permit tumor cell self-renewal and invasion into brain. He has been PI of three multi-institutional clinical trials of gene-, viral-therapies for malignant gliomas, has been permanent member of NIH study sections (NCI DT and NCI P01-D clinical studies), has been a member of the federal recombinant DNA Advisory Committee (RAC/OBA) and of the NINDS Scientific Advisory Council. In 2013, he was elected Vice-President of the Society for Neuro-Oncology (SNO). He was President of SNO from 2015-2017 and President of the American Academy of Neurological Surgery (2018-2019). He is Member at large of the Society of Neurological Surgery and American Association of Neurological Surgery. He also serves on the scientific advisory board of several foundations (Sontag, American Brain Tumor Association). He received The Grass Award in 2007, the Farber Award in 2008 and the Bittner Award in 2013. He was elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (2005), is an AAAS fellow (2005) and was also elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) in 2014. He received the Charles B. Wilson Career Achievement Award from the CNS/AANS Section on Tumors in 2018 and the Victor Levin Award for Achievement in neuro-oncology from SNO in 2018. He also has served on multiple editorial boards and is the current Tumor Section Editor for Neurosurgery and Associate Editor for Neuro-oncology. He was on the editorial board of Journal of Neurosurgery from 2005 until 2012.

the Future of Medicine and AI

May 11–13, 2020 | Boston, MA